Breaking News

Contact Us

Scott County Government Building
ATTN
1 East McClain Avenue, Suite 120
Traffic,  47170
Get Directions

In this Department

More Information

Traffic Tickets

Paying for Your Traffic Ticket

For the amount of your ticket and/or Cause Number, please contact the Scott County Clerk's Office at 812-752-8420.

Your due date is on the bottom of the ticket under Appearance Date. This is NOT a court date. If you would like a court date, please see below. Failure to Comply by your Due Date will Result in the Suspension of your Driver's License.

Payment Types
  • Clerk's Office - We accept cash, Money Order or Cashier's Check, or credit/debit card (fees apply). No personal checks.
  • Credit/Debit Card - Pay in our office or call to Paygov at 866-480-8552. Service fees apply for pay in office or pay by phone. Make sure you contact the Scott County Clerk's office for your Cause Number and Citation Number.
  • Mail - We only accept payment by Money order or Cashier's Check. No personal checks. Make sure to include your Cause Number. If you want to receive a receipt, please send a self-addressed stamped envelope with your payment. Send payment to:

    Scott County Clerk

    ATTN: Traffic 1 East McClain Avenue
    Scottsburg, IN 47170

Setting a Court Date

Indiana Residents

You must Personally Appear at the Clerk's Office by the appearance date on your ticket to sign a denial form. Upon completing the denial form, the Circuit Court will set a court date and time for your Bench Trial and a notice will be issued to the address on the denial form.

Out of State Drivers

You may sign the denial line on your ticket and mail to the address above. If you do not have your ticket, you will need to call the Scott County Clerk's Office at 812-752-8420 to request a denial form to be sent to you, prior to your due date. Upon return, the Circuit Court will set a date and time for your Bench Trial and a notice will be issued to the address on your ticket or denial form. If the address on your ticket is not correct, attach an address change to the ticket and sign it.

Infraction Deferral Program

There is an infraction deferral program for speeding tickets that are less than 20 mph over the speed limit. It is not available for CDL license holders. You will need to contact the Scott County Prosecutor's office at 812-752-8466 to see if you qualify.


License Reinstatement

If your license has been sent for suspension, you will first need to pay the ticket that is due in Scott County.

Once paid, we will submit notice to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles the following business day. If you had a citation of Driving While Suspended or Operating without Financial Responsibility, as per Indiana State BMV laws, these are still suspended an additional 90 days after the date of payment is made.